Sosúa, Dominican Republic

(809) 571 2820

Dominican Republic Election Results 2010

Sweeping victory for governing party

A parliamentary election was held in the Dominican Republic on 16 May, 2010 to elect members to the 32 seats in the Senate and 183 seats in the Chamber of Deputies. Polls forecasted a victory for the Dominican Liberartion Party (PLD) of President Leonel Fernandez..   Before the election, 96 of the 178 Chamber of Deputies seats and 22 of the 32 Senate seats were controlled by the PLD.  Despite some delays, all results are now in and the final number of seats won in the Chamber of Deputies was 105 and 31 or the 32 Senate seats were taken by the PLD. 

3,304,174 votes were cast, representing a turnout of just 58% of the population.

The next Presidential election will take place in 2012.

Bookmark and Share

Comments (0)
Comments (Comment Moderation is enabled. Your comment will not appear until approved.)
West Indies Real Estate    Calle David Stern 6, El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Copyright © 2008 West Indies Real Estate
SEO Services by InterCoastal Net Designs